03 Nov 2019

Vanessa Kirby and Cynthia Erivo join BAFTA jury for the EE Rising Star Award

BAFTA winner Vanessa Kirby and 2019 EE Rising Star Award nominee Cynthia Erivo yesterday joined Gemma Whelan and Edith Bowman and the rest of the BAFTA jury for the 2020 EE Rising Star Award.

Celebrating its fifteenth year, recipients of the EE Rising Star Award are some of the most exciting actors and actresses to grace the silver screen. It is the only award at the British film ceremony to be voted for by the British public and is held in high regard, with previous nominees and winners enjoying huge success at the box office, including Daniel Kaluuya, Noel Clarke, Tom Hardy, James McAvoy, John Boyega, Eva Green, Juno Temple, Kristen Stewart, Jack O’Connell, Will Poulter, Tom Holland, and last year’s winner, Letitia Wright.

Kirby said: “It’s been an absolute honour being asked to be a part of this impressive panel of jurors and help make the final decision of who the shortlist will be for the EE Rising Star Award 2020. Today will be tough because we will all be going in with strong opinions on who our favourites are – and the talent is outstanding this year, so I can’t wait to hear the rest of the panel’s thoughts!”

Erivo went on to add; “I was nominated for the EE Rising Star Award last year, so I know just how important this category is and what it means to be nominated. I’m so excited to have the opportunity to have a say in this year’s jury discussion and can’t wait to debate this year’s extraordinarily talented candidates!”

Gathering at the Savoy Hotel in London, the jury panel consists of a line-up of industry experts, all gathered to discuss the longlist of emerging talent. The jury was chaired by Andrew Orr, Managing Director of film production company Independent, and a member of the BAFTA Film Committee. It also included acclaimed casting directors Lucy Bevan(Beauty and the Beast, Maleficent and Murder on the Orient Express) and Nina Gold(The Crown and Game of Thrones); producers Uzma Hasan (The Infidel and FirstBorn), Marc Samuelson (producer, White Mischief and 1984 and BAFTA Film Committee Chair) and Georgina Lowe (Peterloo, Happy-Go-Lucky and Another Year). The jury was completed by prominent film and arts journalists including broadcaster Edith Bowman and film critic Anna Smith.

The EE Rising Star Award nominees will be announced on Monday 6th January, at which point public voting will open and be available to all UK residents at ee.co.uk/BAFTA.